Why Pixelotto is not going to work II

The milliondollarhomepage was a huge succes. I like people who do things on the web which seem to be outrageous like letmestayforaday.com a few years back and the guy who changed a red paperclip for something else till he got himself the house he wanted. The milliondollarhomepage was such an idea. I was fun to see it develope, and read about Alex Tew’s quest for a million in his blog.  So far, so good.  With Pixelotto  it’s different.  First of all  the site is way too slow and clicking isn’t fun anymore – at least not when you are logged in. I tried it for a few days and wrote about some interesting sites that were advertising there, like the e-tuktuk project, but there aren’t that many interesting things to click on. Most of the advertisers are stupid money making schemes. So I stopped clicking and I guess I’m not the only one. But maybe far more important is that now it is simply a business. With the milliondollarhomepage Alex shared his thoughts on almost a daily basis. By leaving that out this time, he broke his own rules. What is left is the thought that selling pixels on a website is a good business idea. And it simply isn’t.

8 Comments

Filed under internet, marketing, trend, web, web 2.0

8 responses to “Why Pixelotto is not going to work II

  1. John

    I found another site, but it’s quite different – it doesn’t sell pixels, but rather letters. http://www.lettermatrix.com

  2. I see. That wouldn’t be yours by accident?

  3. Well, personally I felt there were a lot of things missing in Pixelotto, which I will refrain from mentioning at the moment. I did start my own website with a few of the things I felt should have been different. And even though I am having an urge to mention my websites name I shall also let this urge pass.
    I came across your blog just searching for the main keyword of my main competitor’s website.
    Anyways some honest information here.
    Cheers!!!

  4. Hello Rik,

    Thanks for your interest, I totally agree with your point. And as a matter of fact I have bigger plans for this one. There is a lot of potential in this system. And I hope to develop as much of it as possible. Will leave the intricate details out, for good reason.

    Regards,

    Dheer Gupta

  5. Im honestly suprised Pixelotto did not work. At first I thought this was like those get-paid-to-click websites with a twist and since Alex Tew had already gained a good vibe on the net, I thought people would jump on this one.

    I am a dreamer like everyone else. See http://www.MyCrazyCapital.com

  6. Here’s something totally different for all pixel site lovers… In just 21 steps http://www.stepuptoamillion.com will create £2 Million (nearly $4 Million) and just 1 of the 21 advrtisers/sponsors involved will get £1 Million. It’s a crazy Idea and is already half way to the top of the 21 step ladder.

    With only 21 places The prices are going crazy.

  7. Stephen, wake up. There is no such thing as ‘pixel site lovers’…

  8. Hello skipintro 🙂

    I stop clicking too but I blazed up with idea of tracking its activity.
    I’ve created website that counts daily sales on pixelotto and there some results 🙂
    I have a blog and there are many of unsatisfied advertisers are blaming Alex and their own investments in this ads.
    If you find this information interesting I’ll be very glad 🙂

    With kind regards,
    Alex Filatov.
    http://www.pixelottoreport.com

Leave a Reply

